U14 Girls make National Cup progress

Middlesex 2-1 Berkshire

ESFA U14 Girls Inter-County Trophy
25th October 2018

Middlesex U14 Girls v Berkshire, 25/10/18

Middlesex U14 Girls faced a talented Berkshire team in the first round of the National Cup at Rectory Park, Northolt. 

Middlesex began brightly and created a number of clear opportunities early on, only for the visiting ‘keeper to pull off a string of amazing reflex saves. Midway through the first half, Berkshire counter-attacked swiftly and were able to score the first goal of the game thanks to an excellent strike from their creative midfielder.

Middlesex didn’t let their heads drop and equalised immediately. After great link up play by  Susan Uwaifo, striker Shakira Kafero-Roberts blasted home the equaliser. Having gained the momentum, Middlesex continued to make their pressure count and were able to score an almost identical second goal. Kafero Roberts showed pace and composure before a superb finish set up by all three of the Middlesex strikers displaying excellent passing around the penalty area. 

The second half saw Middlesex maintain their hold on the game, creating chance after chance. At the other end, the defensive line of Noelani Ageyman, Caitlin Finnerty, Scarlet Shafer-James and Mae Rush ensured the home ‘keeper rarely had any action to face. Caitlin Star continued to dictate the tempo of play and could have had a hat trick of assists if it wasn’t again for the superb, in form Berkshire goalkeeper. 

As the second half came to an end, neither side were able to score any more goals meaning that Middlesex progress to the second round of the National Cup where they face an away game against Cambridgeshire for a place in the quarter finals. 

Middlesex coach Adem Ali commented: ‘It was fantastic to see how quickly the girls have gelled and understood how to play as a team after only having one match together before this game. The quality of the chances they created and their defending were superb and shows the amazing potential they all have. It’s been an excellent and exciting start for us all.’

Squad: Noelani Ageyman, Macey Bannerman-Lloyd, Savannah Ann Charles, Margot Farnes, Caitlin Finnerty, Kyra Fleary, Scarlet Shafer James, Jada Pollendine, Naomi Rawding, Shakira Kafero Roberts, Mae Rush, Liana Sideras, Caitlin Boodram Star, Susan Uwaifo, Megan Peters Weise, Harriet Stiles-Winfield

Solid start to Representative Team season

Having relaunched Representative Teams for Under-14 Girls and Under-16 Girls this season, the Middlesex Schools’ FA took the new squads to Kent for the first matches of the campaign.

Although they were playing together for the first time, the Middlesex U14 girls looked comfortable and confident early on, creating some good chances down the flanks but weren’t able to get a shot on target. Failing to make this positive start count would prove costly, as midway through the first half a free kick from the edge of the left side of the penalty box found an unmarked Kent striker at the back post who tapped it in past a helpless Lianna to give Kent the lead.

Middlesex didn’t let the goal affect their confidence and continued to push late into the half. The Seaxes eventually created a great chance for Harriet, whose attempted lob landed just over the bar on the top of the net.

Read more: Solid start to Representative Team season

U14 Girls Representative Squad

The following players have been selected to form the Middlesex Schools' FA Under-14 Girls' Representative Squad:

Angel Acheampong 
Noelani Ageyman
Macey Bannerman-Lloyd 
Savannah Ann Charles
Margot Farnes
Caitlin Finnerty 
Charlotte Haplin
Scarlet Shafer James
Jada Pollendine
Naomi Rawding
Shakira Kafero Roberts
Mae Rush
Liana Sideras
Caitlin Boodram Star
Susan Uwaifo
Megan Peters Weise
Harriet Stiles-Winfield

The standard of players participating was extremely high and the Association would like to thank everyone who took part.